Skip to content Skip to footer

Trucking Security Requirements (TSR)

Developed by supply chain security professionals, the TAPA Trucking Security Requirements (TSR) 2023 Standards focus exclusively on transport by truck and represents the minimum requirements specifically for transporting products via road within a supply chain. TAPA TSR Standards detail the processes and specifications to be used in attaining and maintaining the TAPA TSR certification for their trucking operations. It helps to ensure the safety of drivers, vehicles, and cargoes in-transit by preventing incident attacks and reducing the impact caused by such disruptions.

TAPA TSR Standards are applicable to operators of:
  • Hard-sided Trucks and Trailers
  • Soft-sided Trucks and Trailers
  • Rigid Vans or Fixed-body Truck
  • Sea Container Road Transporters

TAPA TSR Standards are reviewed every 3 years to ensure that it continue to protect and support TAPA APAC members in managing new or emerging risks in their trucking security. During the review, TAPA APAC consults members, expert professionals, Law Enforcement Agencies (LEAs), and other industry stakeholders to gather feedback and industry-best solutions for the new Standards.

Buyers and Logistics Service Providers (LSPs) and/or other applicants often use TAPA TSR Standards as common global Standard in their business and/or security contracts. To ensure that partners are aligned, TAPA Standards act as their benchmarking criteria for selection and negotiation, requiring suppliers and/or partners that meet or exceed TAPA certification requirements for end-to-end supply chain resilience.

Main users of the TAPA TSR Standards include:
  • Buyers
  • LSPs/Applicants
  • Law Enforcement Agencies (LEAs) or other governmental organizations
  • Professional Supply Chain Organizations
  • Insurers

LSP/Applicant can attain the TAPA TSR certification by adopting the methods outlined in the Standard and pass the audit process required, either through the Self-Audit option by TAPA Authorized Auditors (AA) for the minimum level (TAPA APAC certification), or an external audit by TAPA-Approved Independent Audit Bodies (IABs) for all levels of TSR certification (IAB certification). The success of FSR implication is dependent upon the proper interpretation, adoptions and audit of the requirements between the buyers, suppliers, and auditors. LSP/Applicant may request for Waivers on specific security requirement(s) in part or whole on behalf of the Buyer. In such rare cases, TAPA APAC will assess individually and to determine if the request can be approved. After achieving TAPA TSR certification, Shadow Audits may be conducted by TAPA APAC at the association’s discretion to ensure that the LSP/Applicant upholds the Standard requirements.

As trucking operations can be vastly different globally, regionally, and even within companies, TAPA TSR Standards are categorizes into different levels to fit all or part of the services provided by a LSP/Applicant.

3 levels of TSR certification available:

  • TSR Level 1: Elevated Security Protection (IAB certification)
  • TSR Level 2: Moderate Security Protection (IAB certification)
  • TSR Level 3: Basic Security Protection (IAB certification or TAPA APAC certification)
TAPA Locking Systems Guidance (LSG) for TSR Standards

To support companies with their TSR certifications, TAPA has produced this Locking Systems Guidance (LSG) to provide helpful and supporting information on locking systems for users of the TAPA Trucking Security Requirements (TSR) Standard. The guide covers many of the locking system options with useful images and information that are intended for road transport vehicles used in the supply chain industry.

Depending on the user’s security requirements, the usage of locking systems product varies and TAPA cannot specify which product is appropriate for a TAPA TSR security level.

Purpose and benefits of the TAPA LSG:

  • Provide additional detailed information on locking system solutions not covered in the TSR
  • Provide users with locking system categories that will help in selection and identification of suitable products
  • Provide suppliers examples of locking systems and their intended use

To request for a copy of the TAPA LSG, please Contact Us.


To request for TAPA Standards document including audit forms and self-certification forms, please click “Request a Document” below. Standard documents are only for valid TAPA APAC members.

Upcoming Trainings

Request a Document

If you are a TAPA APAC member, please request the document from your company’s Primary Member Representative (PMR).

    Select Standard:

    Document to Request: TAPA FSR 2023 English VersionTAPA FSR 2020 English VersionTAPA FSR 2020 Chinese Version 中文版TAPA FSR 2020 Audit FormTAPA FSR 2020 Certification Framework DocumentTAPA FSR 2020 Certification Framework DocumentFSR Waiver Form

    Document to Request: TAPA TSR 2023 English VersionTAPA TSR 2020 English VersionTAPA TSR 2020 Chinese Version 中文版TAPA TSR 2020 Audit FormTSR Locking Systems GuidanceTSR Waiver Form

    Document to Request: TAPA GSR 2017 Audit FormGSR Level 3 Self-Certification Submission FormGSR Waiver Form

    Stay Informed with the latest Supply Chain updates! Subscribe to TAPA APAC!